Direct Energy Logo
CPUC# :


Questions about a particular plan

(5 / 5)

  Kim @ Direct Energy was great. She is professional and answered all of my questions.

Helen
April 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service!

(5 / 5)

  I have had a great experience with DE. A few hiccups along the way but nothing they could not handle quickly. I am pleased! The chat has actually worked awesome for me!

Lisa
April 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched service provider

(5 / 5)

  Great rate

Linda
April 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Moving on from Direct Energy

(2.2 / 5)

  I've been a Direct energy customer for several years. Upon renewal for the contract, I received a letter for my gas & one for electric usage. There is no place in the letter & or contract that says "To call Us to renew". I want cancelling so I thought, I should be ok where I am, and I will be in my plan. Well no, I was wrong. I'm on second bill that is sky high because of the new rates... Why isn't my supplier going to Bat for me? They are just squeezing me for more money. I did get $100 in a prepaid VISA to compensate for last months charges, but nothing for the same high rate again this month. Bastards. Can't adjust their billing statements? What a crock of crap. Buyer beware....

Disappointed_NY
April 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy and reasonably priced

(5 / 5)

  Very happy with my experience,

MH
March 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

reputable

(5 / 5)

  Never a problem. Real deal. No scams!

janet koch
March 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

my review

(3 / 5)

  i got a good plan at a good price, but was never notified of contract ending and never offered a renewal deal so i left

how it was
March 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great communication thru the" Chat"

(5 / 5)

  I tried to sign into my.new account, couldn't find my account #. Plus,I was concerned that my rate would be very expensive since I use less than 500kg
On average. Chat with Kim Relieved my worry. Thought I would be charged for .500 even if I only used 350 0r 400
She assured me that I wouldn't!.
Good news, Informed personnel are the heart blood of Customer Service.
Kim exemplified great customer service!

Great Customer Service Thru " Chat"
February 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest cons

(1 / 5)

  They doubled my rate without notice I will never do business with them again!

Lee M.
February 23rd, 2019

We are sorry to hear that Lee! We do send renewal information out 30 days prior to ending by mail and email. Please reach out to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information and we would be happy to help locate a more affordable rate! Thanks- Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Why I went to another provider

(4.2 / 5)

  Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.

Elizabeth Reinker
February 18th, 2019

Thanks for the great feedback Elizabeth! We hate to see we lost your business but we would love a chance to make things right! Email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we would be happy to see options for you :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Keep an eye on your bill

(1.2 / 5)

  I was on a fixed rate plan for my house with Direct Energy. When the fixed rate contract ended I did not sign up for another fixed rate contract and was automatically shifted to market rate pricing. Over time their "Market Rate" has crept higher and higher each month. My shop, an couple hundred yards from the house, is on a market rate plan with Ambit New York. The rate charged on my February bill from Ambit is .05902. The rate from Direct Energy is .174487. Nearly 3 times higher! So, what is the true market price? Is Ambit selling power at less than market value? I doubt it.

Dave
February 15th, 2019

Hi Dave. We understand how important it is to keep prices down. Market rates change multiple times during the year which is why our customers can lock into a price thats guaranteed for 12, 24, or even 36 months in some cases. We would be happy to help locate rate options in your area. Just email your account information to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and we will follow up! Thanks, Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WOULD GIVE A F- F- F- IF I COULD

(1 / 5)

  NOT ONLY IS DIRECT ENERGY LIARS, THIEVES AND HYPOCRITES BUT THEY ARE STOKER'S TOO. THIS COMPANY HAS CALLED AND CALLED ME AFTER I DIRECTLY ASKED THEM NOT TO EVER CALL ME AGAIN. THEY USE NUMEROUS NUMBERS EVERY TIME I BLOCKED THEM AND EVEN AFTER I REPORTED THEM. MY BILL CLIMBED 150% AFTER GOING WITH THEM. THEY TOLD ME ONE AMOUNT AND THEN CHARGED ME A HIGH RATE ABOVE OUR AGREEMENT, NEVER SENDING ME THE WRITTEN AGREEMENT AS PROMISED EITHER. THIS COMPANY IS A LIAR, A THIEF AND STOKERS! NEVER EVER GO WITH THEM! LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE PEOPLE!!!

AUDREY
February 15th, 2019

Audrey, We do not promote this type of behavior and would like to address this asap. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account information/phone and we will work to get you added to our Do Not Call list. Thanks, Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019

Allie you say your company does not promote this type of behavior but as a matter of fact it has occurred time and again as stated herein even after I told your company do not contact me again and again and even after I reported your company for harassment and stocking by phone. I will not contact your company as I want absolutely nothing to do with your company. If you look up Audrey Paskell you will find my phone number and account information and from there place me on the "Do Not Call List" Your company are LIARS and thieves as well! Please remind your company to stop calling me! Thank you!

AUDREY Replies February 28th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service is outsourced and hard to reach

(1.8 / 5)

  The only feasible way to connect to Direct Energy customer service is via phone - the online chat option is a joke as the wait time is very long. The customer service is outsourced and poorly trained (thank you for creating US jobs. NOT). Also, you can ONLY contact them during the week so if there is an emergency you're kind of screwed. I am planning on giving this company one last chance before I cancel, even though my mind is sort of already made up.

LA
February 13th, 2019

Thanks for the feedback LA. We currently are available Monday-Friday 8-5pm and are working to improve our online experience. For now our customers can call, chat, or email us. Thanks for giving us another chance to win you over! - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Perfect service

(5 / 5)

  This company is amazing, not just the plans they offer but the customer service as well.

ashley
February 12th, 2019

Thanks for the positive review Ashley! We appreciate you :) - Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it!

(1.4 / 5)

  These guys will triple your rate if you don't get the official notification that your term is up. We just got a bill on their variable at 10.10 per mcf cant believe this price gauge is legal. Stick with local provider! Customer service agent even felt bad and couldn't resolve it! not worth the switch, cheaper to cancel than get stuck with this bill in January. Will also report to BBB.

Price gauging in the end
February 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company, getting better

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Direct Energy for 8 or 9 years now and, except for a few minor issues, have been pretty happy with their service. I use the live chat feature most of the time but, if I have to call customer service, I am usually not on hold too long at all and it doesn't take long to resolve whatever the problem is. The rates are a little higher than some lesser known providers but given the lesser known providers ratings, the higher rates are probably going to be worth it. In fact, my contract with Direct Energy expires this month and I had been shopping around for an electric provider with a lower rate but decided to go ahead and stay for that reason. All the providers offering lower rates had terrible ratings and customer reviews. I also found a few outrageous hidden costs and fine print nightmares among some of the lesser known providers. I would rather pay a few cents more and avoid having to battle with some other company's customer service department about a promise they made at signup they failed to deliver afterwards.

Jennifer
February 6th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is the best!

(5 / 5)

  I was completely satisfied with Direct Energy and their ability to work with me on my account and rate. Chez was extremely helpful. I couldn't have asked for better service. Anyone considering an electric supplier, Direct Energy cares about their customers.

Christian Nauman Jr
February 6th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service

(5 / 5)

  I used the Chat Now option to ask a question about my renewal. It was fast and easy. Javier answered all my questions in a friendly fast manner. Renewed for 2 more years!

Jessica
February 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Excellent customer service, always helpful when I need them.

Tricia
February 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop
January 27th, 2019

Hi Kayla, There are many factors that can lead to an increase in your usage such as weather, connected devices, and general usage. We would be happy to look over your account for the best resolution to cut cost. Please email us your account information at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. -Allie

Direct Energy Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions