We currently recommend natural gas plans from XOOM Energy

Total Fraud

(1 / 5)

  This company is the worst service provider I have ever experienced. People should stay away from this company.

Zack
July 29th, 2020

Hi Zack, we would like to extend to you our most sincere apologies regarding your recent experience with us. We would love to investigate this further and find the best solution for your case. Please engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! Emma / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds July 29th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I hope I have not been scammed.

(1 / 5)

  Do you have salesman to come to sign you up. Because last evening a young man came with no ID, but and I pad with direct energy logo on it and I signed up after I got a call and answered questions to confer that I was the person on the bill. I was not on my Ps and Qs. Please tell me I was not scammed?

Regenia J Dunnings
July 22nd, 2020

Hi Regenia, we take all concerns raised about our sales practices very seriously and require that all our vendors ensure every agent is compliant with our policies and requests made by the owner of the home that they are visiting. Furthermore, each representative is required to clearly identify themselves as being with Direct Energy and not the local utility, both verbally and by wearing the appropriate badging and uniform. We do not tolerate aggressive or forceful behavior from our employees. The Door-to-Door sales agents are employed by vendors that we partner with. If the Vendor training is the opposite of our training, we certainly need to know so that we can investigate their actions and take proper action. If possible, please provide the Agent Name, Employee ID, or physical description of the representative that came to your door. Also, if you would like, we can add your address to our internal Do Not Knock list to prevent any future solicitation.


Please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds July 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pissed parent

(1 / 5)

  To start off my story , my son going back to Tarleton for the 2020 fall. Since he's living off campus, I was getting prices on electricity rates , my first call was Direct electricity, all I wanted to know how much a kilowatt was and plans, well let me tell you the young man that answer was so rude and obnoxious , Well not to argue. I calmy hang up. Scratched them off my list, ever since they been trying to contact me. Sorry direct energy were taking are business somewhere else. College parents do your research on electricity company, TXU energy was our choice. There customer service was beyond exceptional, answered all my questions with out any attitude.

Dad
July 22nd, 2020

Good afternoon, Dad. We are truly sorry to hear that the experience you had with our Customer Care Team was anything less than outstanding. We always strive to provide excellent customer experience and apologize if we missed the mark. We totally hate to know that we have lost you as a part of our family. If you ever have further questions please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through a Live Chat agent. We hope to see you as a member of the Direct Energy family again in the future. Best wishes to you and your family! - Camila / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds July 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric service

(1.2 / 5)

  When I signed up with them I asked if they had a fee for delivery of electric they said no. I get my first bill and my bill was $160 the delivery fee for the energy was another $160 so that made my bill a total of $320. I moved had to cancel service and use co op electric. I asked for a credit letter to be faxed over so I could get my power on immediately and i was told it takes them 7 -10 business days to fax a paper! Seriously? I had 2 accounts with them and never been late and they couldn't fax a paper! I had to pay a $400 deposit because they didn't fax the paper.

Mariela Gomez
July 20th, 2020

Hi Mariela, thank you for taking the time to share your review. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service we provide to our customers. We would like to apologize for the experiences you detailed in your review. If there is anything we can do feel free to contact us at any time. We wish you the best. - Emma / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds July 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very upset

(1.4 / 5)

  Direct energy looks real nice until you find ALL of the hidden fees. Now stuck in a contract with no way out. Don't fall for their "deals"

Becky Simmons
July 18th, 2020

Good afternoon, Becky. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would love the opportunity to help you solve any concern you may have. Pleasefeel free to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can also contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we care for you and we will do our best to help you out. Have a great start of the week! - Camila / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds July 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thieves - DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

(1.4 / 5)

  I was unfortunately a Direct Energy customer for years. My wife pays the bills and wasn't really paying attention to the amount on the electric bill. One day I opened the bill and was shocked. So I researched the kw/hr price I was being charged by Direct Energy with what the typical price was. WOW.

Direct Energy was happily charging me over DOUBLE their current price. Basically, they were stealing from me. Companies need to make money. I get it. But Direct Energy's behavior is unethical and should be illegal. No phone call, no email. Zero effort was made to help a long-time customer to not be price gouged.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

If they offered me a rate at half of everyone else, I still wouldn't use them.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Dave T in PA
June 19th, 2020

Hi Dave, we regret to learn you are disappointed with your rate. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further with you and find the best plan that can suit to fit your energy needs.

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at 1-888-305-3828, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST, or engage with our Live Chat agent from www.directenergy.com It will be a pleasure to help you, and we look forward to hearing from you! - Emma / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds June 22nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

(1 / 5)

  Using this energy company was a complete NIGHTMARE. Buyer beware.. They were charging me $300 a month and I live in an apartment. If you pay your bill the day it is due, they will not post the payment for 2 days causing you to the go past due so they can tack on fees and shut your electricity off even tho you've paid and then charge a reconnection fee. Customer service was a nightmare and will not work worth you and speaking with a supervisor was a joke. I could not wait to get out from under Direct Energy and have since been using another company that I am completely happy with. Direct Energy should be shut down for bad business practices...

Rusty
June 15th, 2020

Hi Rusty, we want to start off by sincerely apologizing for your negative experience with our company.
If there is anything we can do to assist with this claim, or any outstanding questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. We have a Live Chat portal https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/ and Social Media team https://www.facebook.com/HWAHomeWarranty available Monday through Friday from 8:00 am 5:00 pm CST available to help! We look forward to hearing from you and getting your claim to a resolved status. Thank you and have a great day! Emma / HWA Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds June 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A complete waste of time

(1 / 5)

  This was one of the most frustrating experiences I have ever had in regards to dealing with a utilities provider. It began when I tried to sign a 4 month contract for electricity from their website. The website could not process the order and I was given a phone call from a representative shortly afterwards. I had a very hard time understanding the rep. Just before the last confirmation to complete the order was given, I asked if the contract I was signing was the 4 month contract. It turns out the rep. was trying to get me to sign a 15 month contract, even though I never stated that I needed electricity for 15 months. The rep. ASSUMED I would be okay with signing a 15 month contract when I initially signed for a 4 month contract. After trying to explain that I only needed 4 months of electricity because, that's how long I was going to be leasing my new apartment, the rep. continued to attempt to convince me the 15 month plan would be better. I ended the phone call, letting her know that I would try the website again. Later I signed up for month to month electricity from their website, but was never given an email confirmation. I called that Monday asking why I was not given an email confirmation and was told that it was because I had signed up for the plan on the weekend and that it would take a couple of days for the email with my account information to be sent out. I was also given confirmation that the order for the electricity was approved and that the electricity would be installed on the required date. ( I needed the electricity installed a very particular date because the apartment complex I was moving into required the electricity to be installed before I could move in. The day before I planned on moving into my new apartment, I gave Direct Energy another call to make sure that the electricity was going to be installed so that I could move into my apartment. I was given complete confirmation from a customer service representative that the electricity was approved to be installed on the requested date and I was also given my account number. I later tried to sign in to my account with my account number, only to find the account number was for a completely different person. I called back and was told by the same rep. that gave me the account number that I was not going to have an account with the company because I was on the month to month plan. This was fine as long as the electricity was going to be installed on the requested date. The day of move in, I called Direct Energy asking for the email confirmation with the confirmed date and address for the installation and was told that my order HAD NEVER BEEN PROCESSED. After having 2 confirmations that the electricity was going to be installed, I was being told that it was never installed. They suggested that I try to order electricity from their website again so that they could install the electricity that same day, but when I went went through the order process on their website, it could not process the order as before. It was then that I decided to go with Champion Energy and was able to have electricity scheduled to be installed that very day within minutes. In conclusion, it was a very stressful and frustrating experience dealing with Direct Energy and I hope I never go through it again.

Anonymous
May 16th, 2020

Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the situation you had to go through. We would love to have the opportunity to take a deeper look into this and to further escalate the issue if needed. Please, we ask that you connect with our Facebook or Twitter team or you can also reach us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to give the follow-up needed and to find the reason why this happened. We look forward to hearing from you soon. - Camila / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds May 21st, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Air conditioner nightmare

(2 / 5)

  I made the claim 3/13/20 it took til 4/20/20 to complete. Customer service took days to call me back, very slow responding. However When the technician arrived, everything became better. He was able to get the job completed! Ive used HWA for many years and this was the first time It took so long to handle.

K Bodie
April 24th, 2020

Hi Bodie, We are so sorry to hear that your claim experience took longer than anticipated, and we can certainly understand the frustration that this caused. We are glad that to heard that the claim has been resolved for you. If there are any remaining questions or concerns regarding the claim you referenced in your review, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may take a closer look for you. Please reach out to our Live Chat team https://www.hwahomewarranty.com/ or Social Media support https://www.facebook.com/HWAHomeWarranty at your earliest convenience to proceed forward with assistance. Have a good day! - Emma / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds May 8th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(3.2 / 5)

  No

JFK
April 9th, 2020

Thank you, JFK, for rating our services! We are glad to see you had a pleasant experience signing on to our service and are enjoying our plans. At a deeper look, we see that our Customer Service section was the lowest-rated category. We would love the opportunity to build on your experience for the better! If you are ever in need of assistance, please know you can connect with our digital support team through Live Chat https://www.directenergy.com/ or Social Media https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/. Have a great week! Stay safe out there. - Eleanor / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't choose this worse company

(1 / 5)

  The worse company ever!!!!! I called them, let them know I want to have my contract starts next month with them , I told the agent like 5 times !!!!!!! What they did? They just started the same Day I called. It left me with the cancellation fee with my own provider. I called back DE! Guess what? It went on answering coz they do not have 24/7 customer service. Then I called my own provider and make my new contract with them and let them know how stupid is DE.
The other day, I only wanted to give them another chance so I direct DE here on FB and let them know do not sent me any sort of welcome package. They told me disregard it please. And guess what happened yesterday, they sent me a bill
Can't believe they are this much mess

Worse company
March 26th, 2020

Good afternoon, Mona.Jam1988. We regret that your request for service was not actioned as you intended. We were able to reach out to our Social Media group to verify that this situation was escalated and taken care of via that channel. We apologize for the additional steps you had to take in order for this matter to be rectified. If there are still any outstanding questions or concerns that we may answer for you, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our Social Media channel is always available for support as well as our Live Chat team https://www.directenergy.com/. Thank you. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service

(4.6 / 5)

  Tamra was our customer account representative. She was beyond helpful in such a professional and kind way.

Bills Sandwich Shop
March 20th, 2020

We appreciate you for letting us know of this positive experience with Tamra! This is great news and we will be sure to pass this feedback along to the appropriate team for recognition. Thank you for being a Direct Energy customer! Have a great week and stay safe out there. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Plan expiring 4-29-2020 w. Direct Energy

(5 / 5)

  Professional and honest

Plan expiring 4-29-2020 w. Direct Energy
March 16th, 2020

Good afternoon. We certainly strive to hit a higher standard for customer experience and we are thrilled to see this has been the case for you! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate having a customer such as yourself. Have a great day and stay safe. - Eleanor / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  I have been stupid to be with them for so many years. When I realized that my electric bills have been charge triple, I call to cancel but I still have to wait for 2 more billing cycles. Stay away.

Thanh Nguyen
March 1st, 2020

Hello Thanh. We regret to have lost you as our customer. With us acting as a third party supplier for your energy service, we work with your utility company to close the supply service account. We do not have control over your utility company's billing and follow in accordance to their timelines for transitions. Unfortunately, Direct Energy does not have the opportunity to close accounts ourselves, so we are unable to speed the process of closure along. To determine whether this cancellation could be expedited, we recommend connecting with your utility company directly to see if they can action your request. Thank you for your understanding and patience. We wish you the best. - Eleanor / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Promo

(3.6 / 5)

  Was supposed to get a gift card for a review and NEVER got the gift card.

Gift card
February 29th, 2020

Hi Jeff! We are so sorry for this delay in delivery. We can absolutely follow-up on this missing giftcard. Please reach out to our Digital Care team through the avenue of your choice to proceed forward with assistance:

Live Chat: https://www.directenergy.com/
Social Media: https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/

We are looking forward to providing you a quick resolution to this matter! Thank you for your time. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thieves

(1 / 5)

  Direct Energy is charging me $.93/ccf. Since realizing this I've set my account to cancel. Of course, in their favor, it takes 1 to 2 billing cycles to actually cancel. In the meantime they have declined to reduce my rate from this astronomical charge. The rate of my new supplier is $.21/ccf. Lesson learned. Never switch to these crooks!

Seth
February 28th, 2020

Hi Seth. We regret to see that our service agreement ended on a negative note. With us acting as a third party supplier for your energy service, we work with your utility company to close supply service accounts. We do not have control over your utility company's billing and must follow in accordance to their timelines for activations/disconnections. Unfortunately, Direct Energy does not have the opportunity to close accounts ourselves, so we are unable to speed the process of closure along. To determine whether this cancellation could be expedited, we recommend connecting with your utility company directly to see if they can action your request. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We wish you and your family the best. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

beware of price gouging!

(1 / 5)

  My gas rate DOUBLED from January to February. I called to ask why and they said that my fixed rate plan ended and I was on a variable rate. Also, they would not do anything about it because I decided to switch to another supplier. I can understand a rate increase, but doubling the rate is clearly an attempt to gouge money from me because I decided to change suppliers. Criminal.

ccb
February 27th, 2020

Good afternoon. I apologize for any miscommunication regarding our attempts to offer support at the time of this interaction. Unfortunately, as we are a third party supplier, we do not have the ability to interject into the utility company's billing system. For active customers, we have more flexibility to work with them as we can contribute to some portion of the bill. That being said, we wish there was more we could have done for you and your family when you needed the support the most. If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us through our Live Chat portal: https://www.directenergy.com/. We wish you and yours the best. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No sign of them on my bill yet

(1 / 5)

  No sign of them on my bill yet

No sign
February 21st, 2020

Good afternoon. We are just as eager to become your new supplier! As we are working as a third party supplier with your current utility company, we are on their timeline of when our services are able to officially begin. Typically, this transition can take 1 - 2 billing cycles. If there is anything we can do to assist with your DE account, or any outstanding questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. We have a Live Chat portal that is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am - 5:00pm CST through our website: https://www.directenergy.com/. Have a great day. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraudulent billing

(1 / 5)

  I was a direct energy customer for about 2 years, in which i closed my account in great standing not owing any balances. I wanted to use direct energy again for my electric provider, so i reached out to them. Of course the did the total new customer setup with running your SSN, for a soft credit check. The customer service rep, set me up with service gave me the same account number that i previously had and told me when me service would be active. A few days after i received a call that i owed more money. So with all this said, STAY AWAY FROM DIRECT ENERGY. Customer service is rude and unaware of correct information. They tried to hold me accountable for a bill that i paid in full.

Real writer
February 11th, 2020

Hi Real Writer. Given the situation you described, we can imagine how frustrating it was going through this situation of coming back into our services. There certainly appears to have been a break down in communication regarding the closure of your initial account. We are happy to take a deeper look into this for you to determine where this break was and offer some clarity. Please reach out to our Digital team through our Live Chat portal: https://www.directenergy.com/ to continue with opening this investigation. Thank you. - Eleanor / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Super

(5 / 5)

  Very satisfied with supplier

Art
February 10th, 2020

This is excellent news, Art! Our primary goals always include responding efficiently, providing outstanding customer care, and ensuring our customers have a re-established peace of mind that comes with having a trusted energy company working with them. We are glad this has been the case for you as well! Best wishes to you and your family. Stay safe and stay healthy. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions