Direct Energy Logo
CPUC# :


Why I went to another provider

(4.2 / 5)

  Perfectly happy with entire experience until service contract expired. If customer service had contacted me and offered same rate, I would still be a customer. Signed with another service then get your offer for a lower rate. Sorry.

Elizabeth Reinker
February 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Keep an eye on your bill

(1.2 / 5)

  I was on a fixed rate plan for my house with Direct Energy. When the fixed rate contract ended I did not sign up for another fixed rate contract and was automatically shifted to market rate pricing. Over time their "Market Rate" has crept higher and higher each month. My shop, an couple hundred yards from the house, is on a market rate plan with Ambit New York. The rate charged on my February bill from Ambit is .05902. The rate from Direct Energy is .174487. Nearly 3 times higher! So, what is the true market price? Is Ambit selling power at less than market value? I doubt it.

Dave
February 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WOULD GIVE A F- F- F- IF I COULD

(1 / 5)

  NOT ONLY IS DIRECT ENERGY LIARS, THIEVES AND HYPOCRITES BUT THEY ARE STOKER'S TOO. THIS COMPANY HAS CALLED AND CALLED ME AFTER I DIRECTLY ASKED THEM NOT TO EVER CALL ME AGAIN. THEY USE NUMEROUS NUMBERS EVERY TIME I BLOCKED THEM AND EVEN AFTER I REPORTED THEM. MY BILL CLIMBED 150% AFTER GOING WITH THEM. THEY TOLD ME ONE AMOUNT AND THEN CHARGED ME A HIGH RATE ABOVE OUR AGREEMENT, NEVER SENDING ME THE WRITTEN AGREEMENT AS PROMISED EITHER. THIS COMPANY IS A LIAR, A THIEF AND STOKERS! NEVER EVER GO WITH THEM! LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE PEOPLE!!!

AUDREY
February 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service is outsourced and hard to reach

(1.8 / 5)

  The only feasible way to connect to Direct Energy customer service is via phone - the online chat option is a joke as the wait time is very long. The customer service is outsourced and poorly trained (thank you for creating US jobs. NOT). Also, you can ONLY contact them during the week so if there is an emergency you're kind of screwed. I am planning on giving this company one last chance before I cancel, even though my mind is sort of already made up.

LA
February 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Perfect service

(5 / 5)

  This company is amazing, not just the plans they offer but the customer service as well.

ashley
February 12th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Waste of money.

(2 / 5)

  I ALWAYS have my lights turned off(never left on)and never have much plugged in but my wifi box 24/7 and sometimes my Tv & Xbox only when im watching tv other then that they are unplugged so concerve electricity and i still use almost $3-$4 dollars a day but the days i seem to use more electricity i use less money which I dont understand and it seems like the more money i put onto my account the faster it runs out and the more money i use . Honestly going to switch companys tomorrow when i get paid . This company is a waste of money

Kayla bishop
January 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewing Contract

(3.2 / 5)

  I have tried to contact Direct Energy for 2 days to renew contract. It appears that the low rate is only available to new customers. I have been with them for 5 yrs and went online to do a Chat but each time I am told 6 people in the Que. I wait until it gets down to 1 and then a message comes up that no agents available. I get out and go right back in and 6 in Que again. Last year when contract was up the price to renew went up. This year it looks like quite a bit. It appears that they get you in and then continue to raise the price.

Milo
January 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Glad I switched

(5 / 5)

  I used to be a Reliant customer and finally got tired of being over charged, so I switched to Direct Energy and I am so glad I did.

Lisa
January 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch Billing Practices

(2.6 / 5)

  Our electric bill more than doubled and for months we soul-searched to determine what we were doing to use so much power. Then I went online and looked at the rate we were paying vs. NYSEGs rate at the same time. We were regularly paying DE as much as 3X NYSEGs rate. So we switched back yesterday.

After speaking with NYSEG, we learned that DE lured us away from NYSEG a year ago or so into a slightly cheaper fixed-rate plan with a fixed term. We took the bait! Then when that term was up we were put on a sky-high variable rate. Had we stuck with NYSEGs low (and regulated) variable rate we woul have saved hundreds!

Bait and Switch Billing Tactics!
January 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy is GREAT!

(4.8 / 5)

  I've been w/Direct Energy for a few years now. Their plans & services are without a doubt, some of the best around. We're very pleased w/our ongoing rate of $0.0500 per kilowatt-hour is most competitive around. Their website is extremely user-friendly & customer service is outstanding. My ONLY complaint is the differences displayed online vs. paper bill. However, this primarily due to when I actually pay, a full week after the billing statement.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DIRECT ENERGY AS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE FOR ELECTRICAL DISTRIBUTOR!

Tommy
January 2nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Generation only.

(4.6 / 5)

  Never any problems.

Good supplier & prices Repeat customer.
December 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good so far...

(4.8 / 5)

  I just started, but everything has been seamless so far. I dont even have to do anything to receive my echo dot! I have free weekends so with the kids home at that time, Im loving it!

Britney M.
December 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy thums up

(5 / 5)

  Great company, great prices, great plans, and on top of that, you can speak with a real person on the phone when you need assistance the most.
I've been using them for over 4 years, and never once I had an issue.
I moved 3 times while I had Direct Energy as a provider, and every single time, there were there to switch my service in no time (no issue)

Customer
December 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

customer service

(3.6 / 5)

  Cres was extremely helpful; answered all my questions and concerns.

Dolores
December 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(4.2 / 5)

  Direct Energy Customer Service is awesome. I am not easy to deal with, but Chas took ownership of the problem and hung in with me until it was resolved. It was an AutoPay issue and he worked with me, even involved his supervisor to get everything taken care of. Seldom do I find Customer Service where "Service" is the key word!

Excellent Customer Service
December 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cs was really helpful

(4.6 / 5)

  Needed help with my bill and cres from cs helped me out n was very kind

Esther
December 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not the best

(1.8 / 5)

  I've been a customer for just two months. In those two months, I've been trying my best to create an account on your web site. For some reason I've been unable to determine, it will NOT ACCEPT my account number (or the account number assigned by Vectren)

PS: You absolutely need a "not applicable" radio button on your rating system (Or, allow zero stars) (Or, allow no stars to be lit)

Bill
December 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Direct Energy Annual Renewal (Mistake or SCAM)

(2 / 5)

  On October 30th, 2018 I called to renew my energy plan for 2019. After agreeing on the new rate, which is higher cost, I confirmed with the agent that this new rate was to take place after my existing expired on December 5th since my old rate was cheaper. The agent confirmed. Three days later, November 2nd, I received an email stating my new plan had been accepted and was effective October 4th, 2018 which was wrong and should of been December 5th, 2018 which was 2 months early. Twenty-seven (27) days later and ten (10) phone calls totalling more than 3 hours the issue was finally resolved. Was it a scam or a mistake, I DO NOT KNOW, but if this same thing happened to another 2 million customers, they have 6 million per the internet search, and only half caught their mistake, Direct Energy could of made an additional $13 million if the mistake amount was the same as mine which was $13.12 for only one month. When I asked for some compensation for my spending so much time on the phone, their comment was that I had already received $75.00 when I renewed my plan and they cannot offer compensation more than one time per year. I guess my 3 hours of time was worth nothing since this was all THEIR mistake. I will not renew with Direct Energy again and my suggestion is for each of you to monitor your renewal process for their mistakes. (Note, this also happened on my 2017 renewal but only took one or two calls) I have been a loyal customer of Direct Energy for 9 years.

Barre
November 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  My rep, helped me all my questions, and answered all of the concerns i had.

Kesha
November 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Much Cheaper that what my Local Company Charges

(4 / 5)

  Duke Energy (Cincy, OH) rates are Steep. When you go on their "Budget-Plan" (to avg your payments) you get a Balloon Payment come Spring for $800.00+, after paying avg $200-350 a month for a Balanced Gas/Elec home with 3 bedrooms. With Direct Energy. my monthly payments dropped to $190/mo and NO $800 Balloon Payment!

J Sanner
November 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions