Spark Energy Reviews

Spark Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Spark Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.7 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.7 of 5.

Spark Energy Rating

CA Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Spark Energy

Founded in 1999 and licensed to sell electricity in Texas in 2002, Spark Energy is now a national retail electricity and natural gas provider. They now provider electricity and/or natural gas services in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas.

149 Reviews for Spark Energy


What happened to the low rate?

(3.7 / 5)

  Spark is fine, has a fully functioning website (ie account details, history etc.), accepts AX, had the lowest rate for a company I thought would remain in business, but when second contract with them came for renewal they where significantly higher than competition, so had to bail.

Anonymous
January 10th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased customer

(3.6 / 5)

  I never ran into problems with this company. Cancellation went smoothly (I moved to a location where they did not service). I don't have any complaints.

Jisel
September 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to have best price, but not any more

(3.4 / 5)

  I've had Spark Energy for the past few years, and have no complaints. I have no idea what their customer service is like because I never had a problem that required contacting them. IMHO, the best customer service is doing the job right the first time, so the customer doesn't need service.

Having said all that, I've decided to switch this year. When I first signed up for Spark, their prices were at the low end of the spectrum, but now they're in the middle of the pack. To add insult to injury, they offered to renew my contract at a "special reduced rate" higher than what they're offering new customers.

I put together a spreadsheet and ran the numbers, and I should save about $200 over the course of the year by switching to another provider

John
June 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great but for billing

(3.3 / 5)

  About to complete my second 12 mo. term with Spark. I'm on the avg.
billing and email statements/charges have been like clockwork.
However, online access to statements mysteriously stopped 6/10. I
have however kept the download copy of the statement for my records.
No bill for 12/10 has been sent by email either (charge to CC occurs
the 8th of the following month). Phone contact was of no help and I've
now sent an email inquiring as to my billing status. I'm tempted to
change next month however ratings are better for this company than
those other companies which I would consider. FYI, online information
before signing up showed avg. billing availability. When I requested
same I was told that it wasn't possible though contract terms said
otherwise after three months. After pointing this out I was magically
able to avg. bill. If this is a good company I don't know that I want to
see a bad one. Never had issues with TXU, except for cost.

Teasip
January 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The "Spark" is Gone

(3.2 / 5)

  Concur with earlier poster about the changes Spark has made. Have been a totally satisfied customer since 2007 using the totally paperless internet plan . They had reasonable rates and no additional fee if you didn't use "enough" electricity.

That has all changed - now rates are higher than other companies and they change a whopping $8.95 if you use less than 1000kw/month.

Can't see any reason to stay with just another greedy provider.

krancmm
November 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good service, good price

(3.1 / 5)

  I have been with them for 2 years with no problems

Robert
August 7th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds August 24th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time to move on...

(3 / 5)

  I have been with Spark since 2007. Flat rate, no minimum monthly fee. Then they started with the monthly $5.00 fee and I shopped around. Golly gee, everyone jumped on that bandwagon. Then they went to $8.99. That combined with the meter reading charge is around $13.00 of my current bill.

You have to watch your email VERY carefully to find a notification that your contract is set to expire.If you get one at all. Yes, I should put it on my calendar but I don't. Miss it and you automatically go to a variable month to month plan - and not one that is advertised on line - but to one that is like "You forgot to re-sign so we're charging you a 150% rate, Sucker" - and you don't realize it until you get that next bill that's already like 20 days into the NEXT cycle. Ouch.

I have found it very annoying that Spark will quote a better rate if you go into them blank. Better rates than what they offer you directly to continue service with them. This time around the rates are about 13% higher and they do NOT meet competitors prices or even try to offer an incentive to keep you. So guess what? I'm tired of shopping with my same company after 4+ years and am shopping others. I'm tired of doing this every few months. But it looks like I must because loyalty is no longer a factor in these greedy tards minds.

I have always been on their autopay plans and generally have no complaints about their service reps. Its all about the MONEY. Sound familiar, Spark? It works both ways.

I will change providers every 3 months if need be. There's plenty of 'em to go around.

Uncle Joey
May 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Think twice before you buy

(3 / 5)

  I had service from this company for about a
year and everything was good up until 2 months
ago. Since then, I have cancelled their service
and gone with another company. It started out
great with my bill being about $40 for my first
month (I'm in an apartment). I was paying about
9.8 cents per kwh, which is good. Well 2 months
ago they knocked the rate up to 14 cents per
kwh with no explanation when asked for one. The
following month they knocked it up further to
17.8 cents per kwh. After talking to someone on
the phone, it appears that I was on a variable
rate plan and if you are on that plan, your
rate can go up at any time for any reason at
all and they dont have to let you know it
either. I immediately cancelled them. Buyer
beware.

Jenna
October 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sad to have to leave

(3 / 5)

  I have had a very good experience with Spark for several years, but noted that when my 12 month period was up (and they did notify me by email) that there was a new monthly service fee of $10 plus they had instituted the graded system. I have a pretty efficient house and rarely go over 1,000Kwh/mo. so will be penalized by higher rates/Kwh for trying to conserve energy. Too bad. Will have to look elsewhere. MR

Mart Rich
May 4th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Review

(2.9 / 5)

  Everything seemed satisfactory. The prices were OK when we started, but later they were no longer competitive so we switched.

Matt
May 23rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service vs Customers Serve Us

(2.8 / 5)

  Requesting that all my billing and communications be on line through e-mail, Spark alerted me to the expiration of my term fixed contract through snail mail and it went unnoticed until months later of them overcharging me by $50 per month.

G Wilhelm
November 11th, 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the renewal notification. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Spark Energy Responds November 20th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Problems Galore from the Beginning

(2.6 / 5)

  We've been with Spark from the beginning and we have had numerous problems. For the first few years it was always administrative related...wrong address, wrong billing amount, etc. Now our problem is our contract expired the end of December and we did not renew on time. So they took our rate from 6.5cents to 16.9cents. When I called to renew for 24 months and complain about the bill, they refused to make a reasonable adjustment. They offered a $75 credit on a $565 bill. We cancelled our service.

Martha Walker
January 24th, 2019

Hello Ms. Walker. We hate that you had a negative experience with Spark Energy. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can take a look into your account and see how we can assist you.

Spark Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lost my deposit

(2.6 / 5)

  These guys lost my deposit. I was told there would be a $300 deposit when I signed up so I paid it...A year later I moved and had service disconnected and according yo them I never paif a deposit but electricity was turned on anyway...please. The deposit was payed out of a direct deposit card that doesn't generate statements but I can access activities online. Luckily I still have the account and it shows sparks debit for the deposit but according to spark I must fax a statement.....I guess small claims court iy is.
.

Ronnie Tucker
September 21st, 2018

Hello Mr. Tucker. We apologize for your experience and would like to assist you with your account issues. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so we can review? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 3rd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service only talkable point

(2.6 / 5)

  The energy service provided were honestly not up to standards. Billing was confusing not to mention their non-existent Plans and Promotions.
The only professional aspect was their customer service, they were very understanding and acknowledging although that is no excuse for their other shortcomings.
Would not recommend as a first-choice but they aren't not the worse.

Christina Consiglio
January 10th, 2017

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We hope that your issues were addressed. If they have not been, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My wallet and my feelings were hurt.

(2.6 / 5)

  My complaint with Spark is that when my contract
expired, they didn't notify before or after so i
could renew at a favorable rate and therefore my
rate skyrocketed for several months before i
noticed. They should have notified me. Because of
this I will be leaving them after my next contract
expires. My wallet and my feelings were hurt.

Gordon Greenleaf
March 27th, 2011

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We do send 2 emails and have a link listed on your online account within the last 60 days of your contract. We do apologize that our notifications may not have reached you. Please let us know what else we can do at customercare(at)sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds April 14th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience with Spark

(2.6 / 5)

  I was a loyal customer with Spark for 5 plus years and my contract expired. Instead of charging my the month to month rate or any reason rate they charged me 5 cent above the going market rate.

Anonymous
September 10th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched to MTM Rate > any advertised

(2.5 / 5)

  My fault, but didn't realize when the 2 month promotional rate expired they would charge considerably higher on the MTM than anything they had listed at PowerToChoose. Req'd paperless billing and autopay and the monthly email doesn't state usage and current rate, just net due and due date. I was neglectful and didn't sign on to the website to see my full statement w/the exorbitant rate.
Was generally happier w/GEXA and am now giving Kinetic a try.

Anonymous
July 3rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disfunctional company

(2.4 / 5)

  Despite agreed upon electricity pricing they charged me more than twice the agreed number. Multiple calls, every time a different person with a different story. Horrible!

Ara pat
January 17th, 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you have encountered. We'd like to review your account to see how we can improve. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information and more details?

Spark Energy Responds January 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Jacked Up Price

(2.4 / 5)

  My contract expired and they made no reasonable effort to inform me that my rate would go through the roof if I didn't renew. Despite receiving emailed statements from them every month, they never put it on their bills. The only way to find out was to log into THEIR website and download a pdf file where it was written in very small print. I was paying 11 cents per kilowatt hour, the day it expired they jacked it up to over 16 cents per kilowatt hour, almost doubling my electric bill. After calling customer service, they were unwilling to make any adjustment even if I renewed my contract... so good bye. Very unethical business practices and no loyalty to their customers. Will also be filing a BBB complaint.

Gerald Skiles
March 4th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bills have never been higher

(2.4 / 5)

  I changed from reliant so I could lock in a lower rate. I have changed to all energy saving appliances, have solar screens, tinted windows, new shutters and blinds and my bills have never been higher. I complained once. They re-read my meter and my bill dropped over $500 the next month and then went right back up. I am not sure they even check the meters. It is the middle of winter and I don't use my air and my bill has not gone down at all! Can't wait to change.

Katy Content
February 25th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions





Example Bill
loading...