Home > Read Reviews > Xoom Energy



XOOM Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for XOOM Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.0 of 5.


XOOM Energy Rating

CA Energy Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low




About XOOM Energy

XOOM Energy is a retail energy provider that offers electricity and natural gas service in select states. Service areas include California, Ohio, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and New York.





14 Reviews for XOOM Energy


Unlimited Energy
(5 / 5)

  I never knew unlimited electricity for one flat fee was a possibility. But I'm loving it. Its 89 and humid outside, and its 68 degrees in here. No cost per kilowatt just one flat rate every month. Fabulous!

Debra
July 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have really enjoyed saving money
(4.6 / 5)

  This company has made it easy to get electric, have had wonderful customer service experience's and have never in my life paid such a low electric bill!! There are also a lot of rewards, and xtra's you can get just by being a Xoom customer that have also either saved me money or have earned me cash rewards. I get to use 50% solar, and have the lowest fixed rate plan in this entire area. No surprises here, just one happy customer.

Do your own research, I am happy with Xoom
August 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not bad
(4.2 / 5)

  I was with this provider for more than a year. No problems with them. Everything went smoothly.

Ex-Houston Resident
February 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love it
(3.8 / 5)

  So prior to getting Xoom energy, I had read the reviews on yelp and I was aware that I need to read the contract carefully so I would not get tricked. I did that, and too say the least I am very happy with my decision to go with Xoom energy. I love how they allow you to pay for a kid every month as well as providing affordable and efficient gas!

delly doobz
March 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service
(2 / 5)

  I ordered service online and got confirmation that the service will start on the 5th, today is the 9th still no lights. I am getting work done and have hired contractors they go everyday and I am loosing money everyday. I called today and was told they have a system glitch, so why wasn't I informed some kind of communication would have gone a long way. I could have safe money by not sending the contractors out everyday since he 5th. I asked if they can put a rush on it and was told unless I can approve someone will die then no. Worst service ever. I would suggest you directly to a big company.

Sage
April 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam
(1.8 / 5)

  As a small business, until early this year (2018), I didn't select any of the energy delivery companies like Zoom. I never saw one on my bill and the bill was in the $400/mo range throughout the year. I was called by Zoom and they said that I didn't have any alternative that I needed to select an energy delivery company (I think that's what they call them...I've always just let that aspect service default to AEP and the bills have been reasonable so I never worried about it). Zoom talked their service up like I would be so well off. They said there are times of the year that it is most advantageous to lock in (if I understood them right) and I said, "I'm too busy for that I work 65 hours/per week just keeping the business going...I don't have time to try to sift through various plans and lock-ins, etc. I just want something that is simple and doesn't make it worse (words to that effect). I told them I really didn't want any gimmicks because as time goes on, I can't pay attention to the specials and gimmicks, that I had always been happy with just doing things as I had. They said I could not longer do that because it would just default to some company and the rates would be worse. But they assured me I would be so well off with Zoom Energy.
I didn't get a bill in May and then got a warning message in June that I was behind on my account (I imaging I would be if I didn't receive the bill). So I called and got the May and Jun bill paid over the phone at a substantially higher level than previous bills. I figured they "got me" for the late bill but didn't have the time to fight it. Now I get a bill in July that is 50% higher than my previous levels for years. I am in the health care profession and I am the provider so I don't have time to pay the bills myself. I have to be with patients. I have a staff person pay the bills. I can't look at every one of them. Essentially my staff pays the bill and lets me know if it goes up...which they did this month. Now I'm paying 50% more than I used to before I joined Zoom energy. This is a scam!

Geoff
July 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over priced
(1.4 / 5)

  Do not use this company!!! Beware of high hidden fees and although the customer service reps are very friendly, this company is a trap. We are a young family trying to save for a home, anywhere we can. We tried to get out of our plan after seeing that Xoom energy charges an energy service fee from Oncor Monthly of 65.00 and it would be 350.00 to close our service with them. Unbelievable!!!!!!

Over priced!!!!
June 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cost more than original PG&E bill
(1.4 / 5)

  was given 30 days to cancel contract. Didn't get PG&E bill for comparison until after 30 days. The bill was higher than original. Had to pay $70 to cancel.

Doren
February 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service
(1 / 5)

  I went through an out salesman to get electricity. I was promised to have deposit waived, just email the salemam my DL in which I've done. Not only did I do everything asked. They gave me false hope by telling me someone will email/call to start my service... NO CALLS or EMAILS. Reached out to xoom for status...NO ONE HAD ONE FOR ME, had to send status update to another dept and was advised to call back in a few days. Called back a week later was given an acct # to make my deposit and what do you know, DIDNT WORK. Once again, I reached out to the salesman and xoom energy regarding to the issue. Rep named Diego told me to give 10 mins and try again...DIDN'T WORK. Spoke to another rep right after and was told to reenroll..ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME. So not only was I lied about having deposit waived. I lost the lowest rate that was given and now I have to reenroll. NEVER AGAIN. ABSOLUTELY THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE Ive ever got. I will not recommend them to anyone.

Vote2018
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!!!
(1 / 5)

  I am very displeased with the service at XOOM Energy. I was a loyal customer for 2 years and I would never recommend this company to anyone. All I have gotten was the run around from every service rep and manager working there. This company is horrible to customers and they rape you with charges. If I could rate this company a 0 I would.

Katherine
March 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Xoom energy scam
(1 / 5)

  Total rip off...electric bill doubled

Collin Kinsey
February 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING
(1 / 5)

  I signed up for this due to low rate then surprisingly my bill still comes out high in which it equals to the energy rate due to the hidden charges, most probably those small fine prints that only the Xoom Executive would understand. The previous company never charge me those things.

emely
October 16th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible stay away
(1 / 5)

  I signed up with zoom energy the mid of July. I have already canceled my service with zoom and went back to 4 change because of hidden fees I wasnt aware of. Even the manager Erica said it was my responibility to pay the early termination fee even though when I set up service I called and the gentlemen walked me though the set up and never mentioned the fees. I'm now stuck with a $200 electric bill and a $200 termination fee all for trying to do what was best for my family. We usually only pay 120 at most for our bill so this is a huge slap in the face. Management (Erica and Stephanie) have been unwilling to help my family out and are definitely not management material.

Chanel Derr
August 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

deceptive advertising
(1 / 5)

  XOOM advertises low electric rates but does not disclose that they charge numerous additional fees that make their electrical rates higher than their competition. I like so many switch in good faith to find out that they have been swindled by deceptive advertising. The Texas Attorney General should be notified of these illegal and deceptive practices.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!

Richard Newton
January 21st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Updated: 08-11-2018
Example Bill
loading...