Home > Read Reviews > Yep

Y.E.P. Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Y.E.P. are the order experience, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.0 of 5.

Y.E.P. Rating

CA Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low
About Y.E.P.

YEP is one of the two additional brands that Texpo Energy uses to sell retail electricity in the state of Texas, along with Southwest Power & Light. YEP sells electricity in the deregulated areas of Texas to both residential and commercial customers.

73 Reviews for Y.E.P.


Competitive pricing for new customers

(3.6 / 5)

  When you first sign up with YEP, you can get a great deal - but once it's time to renew your contract, they'll roll you over onto a month to month. Be sure to compare their renewal offer with the going rate that other providers are charging, as they were a little more expensive than others and it saved me a couple hundred by switching away from them with a 6 month lock in elsewhere.

Also, you cannot update your payment information online, you have to call into their customer support. Their customer support isn't friendly, but they will update your information and I never had a billing issue. I see no reason not to use them, so long as they give you a competitive rate and you pay your bill on time, every time.

Thomas
October 2nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Green Energy Plan Penalizes Conservation

(3.3 / 5)

  I signed up for YEP's 100% renewable energy plan and they charge me a monthly fee of $7.95 for using less than 1000 kwh per month. Therefore, YEPs "Green" Earth Plan actually penalizes me for wanting to conserve energy!! What a joke.

Ben
August 7th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's not LOVE but more....ehh

(3.2 / 5)

  I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP.

I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print!

PS: What promotions????

Cheryl
July 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam!

(2.8 / 5)

  I received my first bill after only 9 days of service. I used 600+ kwh in those 9 days, but because it didn't meet the minimum threshold of usage I was charged a &7.95 service fee. That's 2000+ kwh per month! When I called I asked about the $7.95 charge, and the rep immediately said she could remove it as it was only a partial month. They do this to everyone, and if you don't call they rip you off! I'm considering filing complaints with the PUC and Attorney General. She wasn't very friendly, either.

Roberto
August 27th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Customer Service

(2.8 / 5)

  My 3 experiences with YEP customer service over 3 years were all negative, never any relief from an apparent overcharge or suggestion of another approach to resolve a problem.

kfj
June 10th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Read the EFL!!!!

(2.6 / 5)

  I hate this company!!!!! They are thieves! No customer loyalty! Charge you extra to pay your own bill, or give them your banking information and have their system draft you within a few of your bill being created. If by mail you'll never know the amount drafted and their cheap online services are rarely running as properly. Spoke to 2 or 3 different agents and they are rude and complete idiots. I have received an agent named reine and been lucky to have had him twice now that company needs more of him or he needs a new company. Request to speak to him any time you call!!! I renewed do to his time to explain things clearly, proper communication. Won't be renewing twice though. In overall not a good energy company and there is better out there for your buck. Happy Shopping!

A. Fuller
February 23rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stuff they don't make clear up front

(2.2 / 5)

  Yes, auto-pay is an option, but if you don't choose it, you get charged a percentage of the bill. Since I HATE auto-pay, I decided to change companies. Lo and behold, a $9.95 undescribed charge on the last billing. Decided to forget about it and be glad we're gone!

ELD
April 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I like this company

(2 / 5)

  I have been using this company for over six years and have never once had a problem. I have automatic bill pay, and get a discount for authorizing it. I have steady, reliable electric service and the payment transactions each month are flawless. I haven't checked in a long time, but I believe that the rate is low, because I run my almost 2,000 sq ft house for $70 in the winter to $200 in the summer. The other reviews are scary reading, but I have no reason to believe that I am not getting my money's worth, and with never a hassle. I like it that they do not waste our money on advertising or corporate giving, thus keeping rates low. I would (and do!) recommend this company to my friends.

Rene
December 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yep, its time to switch.

(2 / 5)

  They refuse to answer basic questions through email.

Anonymous
April 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Lord!

(2 / 5)

  I have been with these folks for a couple of years. No problems. I always pay my bill, but in March, I was on a cruise and the bill must have came the day I left. I was 3 days late paying the bill, and they sent a nasty letter threatening to sue me, send my account to a collection agency, etc etc.

I understand them trying to get their money. But this is borderline psychotic. I just switched to another company. Hopefully if I am ever late, they won't threaten me like YEP did.

Seems kind of stupid to be so mean to your best customers if they are only a few days late after years of history never having been late.

Eric
April 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do yourself a favor and find another company

(1.8 / 5)

  I had YEP energy for a couple of years and for the most part everything seemed to be OK. Their plans and pricing was competitive. The account was for a property that I was trying to sell so my usage was very low. I noticed that my bill jumped one month and when I went to investigate I found that they hit me with a disconnect/reconnect fee. When I called to discuss why that was I was told that they had every right to charge me that fee if I did not pay within 26 days of the invoice date. Keep in mind this has never been an issue before. When I paid the fee and decided to move on they re-issued another disconnect/reconnect fee for a 7 day period. These guys are crooks. Do yourself a favor and find another company. They will do everything within their power to inflate your bill with charges that are not warranted.

MMM
April 9th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Added fees; exorbitant prices

(1.4 / 5)

  I had to obtain service for 3 months which caused higher pricing. However, not only did they gouge with higher per kWh rates but added fees (a $10 monthly fee, $4.22 payment fee) plus added taxes & regulatory fees common to other sources.

Added Fees
October 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switching immediately

(1.4 / 5)

  Prices are fine,although we receive tempting offers to switch all the time, we hadn't had any issues and didn't want to deal with the hassle of switching. Until today.

Today,on a Monday morning at 7 am when I was about to make my coffee and get ready for work, our power was shut off. We checked the account online, and same as every month, the payment had been successfully charged to the credit card and nothing was past due. When we called,they had our account listed as past due, and the lady said we couldn't talk to someone about it until 830 because that's when they officially "open."

Caled back at 830 (awesome, we're both now late for work and sweating our butts off), the lady told us it was just a "system error" and it would be back on "shortly." No apology or offer to compensate for the extreme inconvenience and time missed from work due to a major error on their part.

Prices not the best out there, customer service is bad, system is obviously glitchy. Unreliable service. We're switching to another service today.

Krissy
June 15th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AGGRESSIVE bill collection - NEVER be late with a payment or ELSE

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Yep's for 5 years with a perfect record of on time payment. I saw that my electric bill was due (via an email alert), but the bill NEVER arrived. I missed making the payment. Four days after the bill was due, I recieved a mailing from them stating: DISCONNECTION NOTICE. Really?? This is how they treat customers??? I called the office to ask for a copy of my bill, and the customer service rep sheepishly admitted that maybe that using 'disconnect' wasn't the best tactic. Now that I've gotten my next month bill I see a $3.50 printed correspondence fee for the pleasure of having them actually send me a bill. WOW. This company is hard core. Know what you're getting into when you sign up. I didn't...and I'm leaving when my contract is up....

Bonnie
March 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I'm working out of town and my wife is paying the bills. She didn't get/lost this month's bill and the power is cut off. We changed our home phone number so didn't get calls from them.

OK -- our fault, but when my wife called to see what happened, customer service wouldn't let her ask questions. She had to tell the service person to stop talking and listen. She had difficulty getting her to update our phone number.

I would only reccomend this company to people I didn't like.

Tony Orlowski
July 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAD BAD Customer Server @ YEP ENERGY

(1.3 / 5)

  I am normally a super laid back person but the customer service at this place takes the cake for the all time worst experience.
I paid my bill within the time of the due date and called the company to inform them that I used my online bill pay to pay the payment and gave them the transaction# and check# Can you believe they were still going to disconnect my electric? I am a single mother with out a job since May of 2009 and I have a special needs child that needs breathing treatments and we need electricity. They said they had heard this sad story before and wouldn't make an exception in my case. The odd thing was I had already made the payment and it had already cleared my bank, I wasn't sure what they didn't get about that.
Anyhow I am stuck in my contract until Jan of 2011, and they will charge 175.00 to get of the contract.I hope I get a job so I can pay this and say goodbye to this Rotten company.
I hope this helps anyone that is thinking about going with this company.

Customer Service Gone Wrong
April 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Utter lack of any customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  It is almost impossible to get customer service. It's really aggravating when they require you to contact them personally to change credit cards but make it almost impossible to reach them via the phone. They don't respond to emails. It's awful.

J Rabe
June 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So Many Names for One Company

(1.2 / 5)

  They operate under several names including Texpo Power, Texpo Power & Light, YEP, Southwest Power & Light, and who knows what else. Their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. In this day and age where you can get cheap rates and service from nearly anywhere, they're butt heads. Their billing system is retarded. I called to ask that they move the date a couple of days to accommodate when my pay check hits so that they'd stop costing me $35 over draft fees. They actually tried to hit my checking account 7x in 3 days - really racking up the fees with my bank and you HAVE to pay on line to get the best rate. It's taken multiple complaints to the PUC and BBB and it's still not fixed yet!

Tired of the Fees
August 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid YEP at all costs

(1.1 / 5)

  YEP Energy is a horrible company. Do not select them for service and
avoid at all costs.

I don't care if they offer you 1 or 2 cents/kwh less than others, DO NOT
TAKE THE BAIT!

They are horrible to cancel with and then they will continue to bill you
until someone else takes over your old service. I was stuck with some
extra months of billing after my contract ended and I contacted them to
cancel. They will then threaten you with a mark on your credit and a
collection agency even if you have evidence that you are correct.

DO NOT USE YEP!!!!!

YEPishorrible
February 22nd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run as fast as you can

(1 / 5)

  Horrible customer service, over billed amounts, and by far the worst provider I have dealt with in all my life. Made an agreement with them to pay $59 (that was not owed to them), paid the amount 2 days early and they disconnected my service. My bill actually reflected a credit. I will definitely end my contract with the prompto. You get what you pay for.

Buckley
February 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Rates as of
Example Bill
loading...