Y.E.P. Logo
CPUC# :


YEP

(5 / 5)

  Yep has been o good quality REP in this past year, and I would recommend their services.

Layne
August 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

YEP Rating

(0 / 5)

  I've had YEP now for a year, and it has been very easy to navigate the website, change payment options etc. They give a discount for allowing them to debit your bank or credit card. So far no issues, but really don't like giving them the access to my acount.

Layne Hutchings
August 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's not LOVE but more....ehh

(3.2 / 5)

  I've had a few issues with talking to customer service and WAS about resigning my term WITH them! The CSA's answers were ambiguous and not helpful at all. I've been searching for a new provider with a decent GREEN plan (gotta do my part for my beloved Texas!) but I'm getting frustrated and will probably just resign with YEP.

I don't dislike them but I don't LOVE them either......I guess I'm not that savvy when I get bombarded with all the fine print!

PS: What promotions????

Cheryl
July 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TopazLace

(4.8 / 5)

  I have had this electric provider for 8 years. Never had a problem with them at all. No billing mistakes, rate is .054 & I am quite pleased with my experience overall.

Texastopaz
July 19th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

YEP is nothing but CON artists

(1 / 5)

  They charge 3.50 for printed correspondence fee, This is if they have to send out any notices to you. Then there is a 13.40 if you are not setup on auto pay. This correspondence fee is charged on every bill, when we called they said yes that fee is on every bill. we asked so we have to pay to know what our bill is? They said yes. Then they have people who speak broken English call you, they wont give you 24hr extension unless you pay half the bill.

Keep an eye out for www.yepenergysucks.com

Jeff
July 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Utter lack of any customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  It is almost impossible to get customer service. It's really aggravating when they require you to contact them personally to change credit cards but make it almost impossible to reach them via the phone. They don't respond to emails. It's awful.

J Rabe
June 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AGGRESSIVE bill collection - NEVER be late with a payment or ELSE

(1.4 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Yep's for 5 years with a perfect record of on time payment. I saw that my electric bill was due (via an email alert), but the bill NEVER arrived. I missed making the payment. Four days after the bill was due, I recieved a mailing from them stating: DISCONNECTION NOTICE. Really?? This is how they treat customers??? I called the office to ask for a copy of my bill, and the customer service rep sheepishly admitted that maybe that using 'disconnect' wasn't the best tactic. Now that I've gotten my next month bill I see a $3.50 printed correspondence fee for the pleasure of having them actually send me a bill. WOW. This company is hard core. Know what you're getting into when you sign up. I didn't...and I'm leaving when my contract is up....

Bonnie
March 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They will turn off your power if you are 2 days late

(1 / 5)

  I was a customer for 4 years, they had a change of management of accounts so now if you are 2 days late they will turn off your power. Why would anyone give them their business!!!!!!!!

Matt
February 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

run

(1 / 5)

  I have had this comapny for several years, but I just got ripped off. I had a zero balance and requested termination due to home being in foreclosure. My final ends up being 3 times the highest bill. I want to be fair and pay for what was used but this is not right. They have a lot of hidden charges. This a company that I would never consider.

Barbara Vos
January 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I like this company

(2 / 5)

  I have been using this company for over six years and have never once had a problem. I have automatic bill pay, and get a discount for authorizing it. I have steady, reliable electric service and the payment transactions each month are flawless. I haven't checked in a long time, but I believe that the rate is low, because I run my almost 2,000 sq ft house for $70 in the winter to $200 in the summer. The other reviews are scary reading, but I have no reason to believe that I am not getting my money's worth, and with never a hassle. I like it that they do not waste our money on advertising or corporate giving, thus keeping rates low. I would (and do!) recommend this company to my friends.

Rene
December 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just as Competitive as Other Companies, Excellent Customer Service

(4.6 / 5)

  I have used several providers since the beginning of Deregulation in Texas, this company has always been just as competitive and unlike many other companies, they actually breakdown the Energy and Transmission charges. To some it may seem like a "hidden fee" but other companies just bundle it all up, I like that I can see the two seperate charges. Once I was charged a $7.95 "monthly service fee" for usage less than 1,000 kwh, because my billing dates were not a full month, their customer service representative was happy to waive that fee. Our contract is expiring soon and we will be signing up again, hopefully for a longer term as we have been extremely pleased.

Terry G
December 7th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware

(0 / 5)

  I was originally with Epcot which provided awesome service and now the company transferred to YEP which is a horrible company. My bill was due on 11th and now my electricity is off....two days later for crying out loud. That is ridiculous. I tried paying my bill today by check because my bag was stolen and they told me they cant accept a check only a card... I indicated all of my payments were ALWAYS on time. This is the very first time this has happened and the the rep says, "Well we want to make sure we get the money... A check is not guaranteed." How insulting is that. Now I'm currently in the process of withdrawing funds to give to someone so they could make a payment on my behalf. Reliant Energy here I come.

Crystal
November 13th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very dishonest. Avoid at all cost.

(1 / 5)

  This company is very dishonest. It goes under a few names, YEP, Texpo, etc. That should be a warning right there. However, they ripped us off by charging extra fees and their customer service is the very worse. Their people are the rudest and most heartless people. Don't use them under any circumstance. We learned the hard way.

Daniel H
November 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cancelled today!

(1 / 5)

  I agree with all the negative reviews. I suffered far too long with this cut-rate, poor excuse of an electric company. I somehow overlooked one payment in four years, and I receive not a friendly reminder, but a letter threatening a small claims lawsuit! Then on top of that, the next invoice charges a "printed corresponedence fee" for the pleasure of receiving the collection letter. One insult too many.

Bruce T.
November 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hopeless

(0.8 / 5)

  Refuse to meet Epcot billing as promissed.Will let PUC settle it.

Gordon Rudd
September 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooks. Worst Customer Service in the Business

(1 / 5)

  DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. THEY HAVE TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I DID NOT HAVE A SINGLE ISSUE WITH ERCOT AND AS SOON AS THEY BECAME YEP - THE SERVICE IS BAD, THE BILLING IS INCORRECT IN THEIR FAVOR, AND THEY HAVE FEES THEY CAN'T EXPLAIN IN THE BILL. THEY WRONGLY BILLED ME FOR A LATE FEE, SAID THEY WOULD CREDIT IT AND MAGICALLY THE SAME AMOUNT SHOWED UP AS "BALANCE FORWARD" IN MY NEXT BILL. WHEN TALKING TO CUSTOMER SERVICE (AGAIN) TO GET IT CORRECTED, THE FIRST ONE PUT ME ON HOLD FOR 12 MINUTES, THE SECOND ONE HAD A "I COULD CARE LESS" ATTITUDE AND WOULD NOT GIVE ME HIS LAST NAME, AND THE SUPERVISER ALSO DOES NOT GIVE OUT HIS LAST NAME, TELLING ME HE ISN'T REQUIRED TO DO SO. THAT SHOULD TELL YOU SOMETHING - MANAGEMENT THAT DOESN'T WANT THEIR CUSTOMERS TO BE ABLE TO CONTACT THEM DIRECTLY. I CAN NOT WAIT UNTIL MY CONTRACT WITH ERCOT EXPIRES SO I CAN SWITCH TO A BETTER PROVIDER THAT CARES ABOUT ITS CUSTOMERS.

Nicole D.
September 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid YEP Energy

(0 / 5)

  I switched to YEP because they offered 100% wind and their advertised price per kwh was excellent. Every month I get an added $75 fee for transmitting energy on top of the advertised kwh. My monthly bill from my previous provider was only about $100 per month. Every month YEP charges me about $90 for electricity and $75 for fees -- almost double the rate of my previous provider.

Unhappy
September 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thanks for such great service

(4.8 / 5)

  I've been a happy customer for over 3 years; used to have TXU for a very long time and even when they keep offering me $300 to switch back to them I will never do, my bills are always reasonable and fair and as long as they keep business the way they do, I will stay with them for as long as as Live :) Thanks Yep Texas!!! You rock!

Marlen
September 8th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam!

(2.8 / 5)

  I received my first bill after only 9 days of service. I used 600+ kwh in those 9 days, but because it didn't meet the minimum threshold of usage I was charged a &7.95 service fee. That's 2000+ kwh per month! When I called I asked about the $7.95 charge, and the rep immediately said she could remove it as it was only a partial month. They do this to everyone, and if you don't call they rip you off! I'm considering filing complaints with the PUC and Attorney General. She wasn't very friendly, either.

Roberto
August 27th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

LOVE THEM!

(5 / 5)

  We switched from Txu about 3 years ago to Yep, and I have never been happier! The service is great(if we ever have problems- only had 1 issue in the beginning) and great prices! We have moved twice, and kept Yep! Love them!

Cameron M.
July 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions